Home » Forums » Student Videos » Ukiah Ranch Waltz

Viewing 14 reply threads
  • Author
      Rita
      Participant

This is a waltz I composed. It also has a second violin part. My band, The Oyster Crackers, play it with our cello playing harmony and 2 guitars.

Sally Loder
      Participant

What a lovely tune.

Marg Sherringham
      Participant

Wow, that is such a lovely tune Rita and played beautifully, nice vibrato. You seem right at home on the fiddle, have you been playing a long time?

Rita
      Participant

I’ve been playing for about 6 years. Playing in our band has given me a lot of confidence. I really like posting here, it’s another way to practice with an “audience”. Thank you!

Marg Sherringham
      Participant

Rita,I just noticed that you wrote this tune, and harmonies too! It would be lovely to see a video of the Oyster Catchers playing it. I have a deep interest in ensemble music, have written some harmonies for a composer of folk tunes, these were published in her book. Also arranged one of them as a classical guitar solo, but I would love to write an original tune as you’ve done, that takes real creativity, and you certainly have that. 🙂

Rita
        Participant

Good morning Marge, I am out of town, but can certainly send you a recording of the song by the Oyster Crackers. We have a CD and it is all original songs written by myself and Bette Lu Krause (one of the guitarists in our band). We also did a live stream concert during COVID at the Columbia Theatre in Longview, WA. It is on YouTube, and we did do Ukiah Ranch Waltz there.

Jan Cokely
      Participant

This is a lovely tune, Rita. I can see Jay Ungar playing it!

Marg Sherringham
      Participant

Hi Rita,
      I’m away for a few days too, for my Grandaughter’s birthday. I’ve managed to watch a little of your concert on YouTube so far and looking forward to watching more. Thanks for sending info about it.

kate.kakadu
      Participant