The physical aspect of fiddling

Viewing 1 reply thread
  • Author
      Caren
      Participant

Hi everyone,

I’m relatively new to the fiddle and really delighted to finally get the chance to learn it. So I like to practise a good bit — trying to make up for the decades I missed out on, I suppose — but I’m really feeling it in the auld bones. I was wondering if any of you would like to share your tips on how you’re dealing with that?

The main issues for me would be shoulder/neck pain (which I’m prone to anyways) and recently also sore wrists (which I never had before).

The shoulder/neck issue has definitely improved with the use of a shoulder rest, even though I find the thing itself quite uncomfortable and it’s kind of poking into me. The fact that I can’t seem to get it into a halfways comfortable position makes me wonder if I’m holding the fiddle in some unorthodox way (not parallel to my shoulder but slightly angled to the front and somewhat tilted down). If there even is the one ‘right’ way to hold the fiddle, or is that as individual as people’s anatomy? That definitely seems to be the case for the shoulder rests and finding the right one will probably be the search for the needle in the haystack, from what I’ve read so far.

The wrist pain is not bad, but maybe there are particular exercises to prevent that or strengthen them? Or is that simply another symptom of a wrong fiddle hold?

Any insights you might have would be very much appreciated! Thank you.

Jocelyn Martens
      Participant

Hi Caren – @fidil,
      Thanks for reaching out and sharing this.
      Would it be ok if we shared a link to your post in the member newsletter, to facilitate more folks to see it?

Some ideas come to me: