Viewing 6 reply threads
  • Author
      Joey B
      Participant

Has anyone tried Holstein rosin? I bought some and put on a new fiddlershop carbon fiber bow. It seems like I have to use a lot of it to get decent grip. It does not seem to have as much grip as the cheap D’Addario Rosin that came with my violin. I am considering getting some Pirastro GoldFlex rosin. Any opinions or other rosin recommendations?

MoonShadows

I use the Holstein rosin, and I haven’t found I have to use anymore than any other rosin I have used. How long have you had your new bow? You will have to use more than the usual amount of rosin on a new bow (in the beginning) than just regular rosining of a bow you have been using for a while.

Joey B
      Participant

I have had the view for a few weeks. Maybe it is just me. I am still new to the fiddle. I bought some hidersine since Jason recommends it. Will see how it compares.

Wendy V
      Participant

I’m in constant angst of “should I rosin more? Have I rosined too much?” I’m currently using Kaplan Dark, not sure why but it seems to take a lot, maybe it’s the new-ish bow…

Joey B
      Participant

I keep thinking I need to find the right rosin. Whenever I feel the bow skating across the strings, it seems like the bow is just not gripping well enough. Maybe it is the strings. I would love to try several more rosins to see what difference they make.

MonicaB
      Participant

As a beginner, how do you know how much rosin to put on? I’m never sure whether I should be putting some on each time I play, nor how long I should rub it along the bow, or do you just do it when you think there’s not enough grip?

Barbara Martin
      Participant

Am I using too much rosin? I have to wipe my string quite often as they start to sound scratchy. I have tried only putting rosin on a couple of times a week- I was doing it every time I practised. I am using D’Addario natural rosin light.

cbFidHed2020
        Participant