Home Page for Non Logged In Forums Technique Questions Forearm and wrist injury

Viewing 4 reply threads
  • Author
      Flora
      Participant

Hi Fiddlers,

I have been studying the violin for almost three years now, and I never had problems like these before.
      I am having problems with my left forearm and wrist. It is painful to play or even pick up my violin and bringing it to my shoulder.
      Especially turning the palm up is causing pain. I do not know for sure weather it is caused by fiddling. Maybe the position of my arm is not right?
      These problems have been bothering me for a month now, and I hardly practice anymore 🙁
      I have had physio therapy, and it did help, however as soon as I start playing the pain is coming back.

Anyone around here who has a clue what I may do wrong, or how long it can take to fully cure from this?

Thanks in advance,
      Flora

MaximusVonC
      Participant

Flora,

That is terrible news! I had shoulder and upper arm issues last year from what was probably my terrible form and practicing for far too long on the D and G strings. My instructor at the time told me to start off playing for no more than 10 minutes on those strings at first and to build it up. I do find myself getting achy every now and then after practice, but it’s not as prevalent as it used to be. It sounds to me like your pain is much more severe. I almost hate to say it, but it sounds like you might need to lay off the fiddle for a little while, while you relax your arm.