Home Page for Non Logged In Forums Chatting On The Porch Fall practice challenge

Tagged: 

Viewing 15 reply threads
  • Author
      CorrinRadd
      Participant

I’m going to practice every day for two weeks for at least one hour per day (and as much of that unmuted as possible).

I can sort of play a rudimentary version of black mountain rag but I’m going to challenge myself to play it better and add some intermediate/advanced variations that I’ve seen people do on some youtube videos.

A secondary challenging tune that I’ll also work on improving is Tennessee Wagoner which I am just starting to figure out.

I’ll record myself a few times over the two weeks and try to improve my sound.

Anybody else doing the challenge?

Lisa
      Participant

Hi,
      Yes I am going for a minimum of 30 min/day (ditto on the unmuted part, lol). I’m a beginner – working on D Major scale drills, trying to improving tone, Lazy John and Swallowtail Jig as my challenge.
      Good luck!

kiirmit
      Participant

Jammed on fiddle tunes last night with 3 friends: another fiddler, guitar player and a mando player. Britches, Sandy Boys, Ashokan Farewell, St Anne’s, Road to Boston, Midnight on the Water, Star of the County Down, and others.
      Last weekend sat in a bluegrass jam so got to do some improv.

kiirmit
        Participant

What’s with the ugly unhappy face icon attached to my post? I didn’t add that.

kiirmit
        Participant

I practice 1-2 hours every day. When I have a jam that day sometimes I’ll just spend a 1/2 hour warming up if I’m crunched for time. Went to a (new to me) Irish tune jam last night where I had to do a lot of sight reading of tunes I did not know – quite a challenge. I’ve been doing some of my practice tunes with a metronome, which is going pretty well so far.

crowbar47
      Participant